News: Student Awards


Inno Under 25: The rising startup leaders to watch in Chicago

January 11, 2024

Inno under 25

A Business Journals article lists UChicago undergrads Aarthi Koripelly and Jackson Lee among the Inno Under 25 for their startup, which tied for first place in last year's College New Venture Challenge and participated in the data science accelerator Transform.


Alumni Spotlight: Get to know Emily Wenger, a 2023 CS graduate who was just named to the Forbes 30 Under 30 List

November 29, 2023

Emily Wenger

Emily Wenger, a 2023 PhD graduate from Appleton, Wisconsin, is making a name for herself in a big way. She was just named to the Forbes 30 Under 30 list for 2024 for her work on Glaze: a tool that allows artists to shield their work from AI mimicry.

Three UChicago PhD students from the Department of Computer Science named to Forbes 30 Under 30 List

November 29, 2023

from left: Emily Wenger, Shawn Shan, Jenna Cryan

Fourth-year PhD student Shawn Shan and 2023 PhD graduates Emily Wenger and Jenna Cryan were chosen over 11,000 nominees for their contributions to consumer technology with the Glaze Project.

Here are this year’s winners of the Chicago Innovation Awards

November 17, 2023

SAND lab logo

Crain's Chicago Business article discusses UChicago's SAND Lab's inclusion in the 2023 Chicago Innovation Awards.

UChicago CS chair, faculty, and students inducted into Samsung Hall of Fame for identifying vulnerability in SmartTVs

November 2, 2023

Samsung SmartTV

Researchers from the Department of Computer Science have created a side-channel attack that identifies how easily hackers could guess a user's passwords or credit card numbers by listening to the audio of a SmartTV. The work has been recognized by Samsung, and the group is now featured in the Samsung Hall of Fame for Smart TV, Audio, and Displays.

Five UChicago CS students named to Siebel Scholars Class of 2024

September 22, 2023

Jas Brooks, Kuntai Du, Miao Li (first row), Madeleine Roberts, and Divij Sinha

Jas Brooks, Kuntai Du, Miao Li, Madeleine Roberts, and Divij Sinha were selected to the prestigious program’s Class of 2024.

UChicago Researchers win Internet Defense Prize and Distinguished Paper Awards at USENIX Security

September 15, 2023

SAND Lab, Security, Usability, and Privacy Education and Research

Among the top recognized at this year's USENIX Security Symposium were the Glaze Project and SUPERgroup's collaborative research on the vulnerability of university’s passwords to attacks leveraging password reuse.

Mark Levin wins BMS Unrestricted Grantee Award, grad student Jisoo Woo awarded 2023-2024 BMS Graduate Fellowship

August 9, 2023

Mark Levin (left) and Jisoo Woo

Congratulations to Associate Professor of Chemistry Mark Levin for winning the 2023 Bristol-Myers Squibb Unrestricted Grantee Award and Jisoo Woo, who works as part of the Levin Group, for winning the 2023 BMS Graduate Fellowship for his achievements in Synthetic Organic Chemistry.