2024 NSF Graduate Research Fellowships

April 11, 2024

Nine Physical Sciences Division graduate students have been awarded 2024 National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships:

  • Alexander W Berlaga, Chemistry - Artificial Intelligence
  • Dale Decatur, Comp/IS/Eng - Computer Vision
  • Andrew Dennehy, Mathematical Sciences - Artificial Intelligence
  • Maya G Igarashi, Life Sciences - Biophysics
  • Claire Jones, Chemistry - Chemical Structure, Dynamics, and Mechanism
  • Noah Mason, Chemistry - Macromolecular, Supramolecular, and Nanochemistry
  • Emma Louise McNesby, Chemistry - Chemical Structure, Dynamics, and Mechanism
  • Stanley Wu, Comp/IS/Eng - Machine Learning
  • Andy L Zhang, Physics and Astronomy - Physics of Living Systems

Honorable mentions were awarded to:

  • Lauren Bergeron, Geosciences - Sedimentary Geology
  • Estefania L Cuevas-Zepeda, Life Sciences - Biophysics
  • Tori Felicia Edington, Life Sciences - Neurosciences
  • Mckenzie Grace Ferrari, Physics and Astronomy - Astronomy and Astrophysics
  • Claire Sarah Lessler, Physics and Astronomy - Astronomy and Astrophysics
  • Lillian Irene Payne Torres, Chemistry - Chemical Theory, Models, and Computational Methods
  • Luca Vito Di Raimondo Scharrer, Physics and Astronomy - Condensed Matter Physics
  • Joseph S Scott, Chemistry - Chemical Synthesis
  • Malcolm Slutzky, Physics and Astronomy - Condensed Matter Physics
  • Christopher Paul Wirth, Physics and Astronomy - Astronomy and Astrophysics

Each fellowship provides three years of support during a five-year fellowship period. For each of the three years of support, NSF provides a $37,000 stipend and $16,000 cost of education allowance to the University.

The program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master's and doctoral degrees at accredited United States institutions. It is the oldest graduate fellowship of its kind and has funded more than 70,000 graduate researchers since 1952, with 42 fellows going on to become Nobel laureates and more than 450 becoming members of the National Academy of Sciences.

Congratulations to these outstanding members of the Division for receiving this honor.

Related News

Awards, Students, Student Awards, Newsclips