News: Faculty Awards


UChicago faculty members receive named, distinguished service professorships in 2024

July 1, 2024

Clockwise from top left: David Archer, Benson Farb, Yamuna Krishnan, Young-Kee Kim

Four Physical Sciences Division faculty members have received distinguished service professorships or named professorships. Congratulations, Profs. Archer, Farb, Kim, and Krishnan!

Light from darkness: Using photonic crystal cavities to build superconductors

June 24, 2024

quantum computer

Researchers at UChicago Pritzker Molecular Engineering and UChicago Physics plan to use a $1.5 million grant from the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation to develop an entirely new method of engineering superconductors for quantum computers and other high-tech applications.

UChicago President Paul Alivisatos shares 2024 Kavli Prize in Nanoscience

June 12, 2024

Paul Alivisatos

The prestigious award recognizes pioneering work in nanoscale materials for medical applications. Alivisatos, University President and the John D. MacArthur Distinguished Service Professor in the Department of Chemistry, is widely known as a pioneer in nanoscience, the study of how materials behave at extremely tiny scales.

Prof. Stuart Rowan elected to the Royal Society

May 29, 2024

Stuart Rowan

Stuart Rowan, the Barry L. MacLean Professor for Molecular Engineering Innovation and Enterprise, has been elected a fellow of the Royal Society.

2024 Arthur L. Kelly Faculty Prize for Exceptional Service in the Physical Sciences Division

May 22, 2024

John Carlstrom

Congratulations to the 2024 recipient of the Arthur L. Kelly Faculty Prize: John Carlstrom!

Prize Winners for Educational Excellence 2024

May 21, 2024

students in lecture hall

This year, nine PSD instructors and students have been honored for excellence in teaching the next generation of scientists.

UChicago announces 2024 winners of Quantrell and PhD Teaching Awards

May 16, 2024

Fred Chong (top), Sid Nagel

Fred Chong, the Seymour Goodman Professor in the Department of Computer Science, has been awarded a Llewellyn John and Harriet Manchester Quantrell Award. Sidney Nagel, the Stein-Freiler Distinguished Service Professor of Physics and the College, has won a Faculty Award for Excellence in PhD Teaching and Mentoring.

Congratulations, Profs. Chong and Nagel!

Five UChicago faculty elected to National Academy of Sciences in 2024

May 2, 2024

From left: Nicolas Dauphas, David DeMille, Bonnie Fleming

UChicago scholars, including geochemist Nicolas Dauphas and physicists David DeMille and Bonnie Fleming, have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, joining other scientists and researchers chosen in “recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.”

Six UChicago scholars elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2024

April 26, 2024

Bonnie Fleming (left), Chuan He

Congratulations to physicist Bonnie Fleming and chemist Chuan He, who have been elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences!

Two UChicago scholars elected as 2023 American Association for the Advancement of Science fellows

April 18, 2024

Guangbin Dong (left) and Benoît Roux

Profs. Guangbin Dong and Benoît Roux have made breakthroughs in organic synthetic chemistry and biophysics. They join the 2023 class, announced April 18, which includes scientists, engineers and innovators across multiple fields.

Submit your images from UChicago research to 2024 Science as Art contest

March 7, 2024

a section of a fossil bone, sliced thin and placed on a gypsum plate under polarized light in a petrographic microscope

In the course of scientific research, beautiful images can appear in simulations, under microscopes or in photography. They can offer a window into the process of scientific research to the public, as well as inspiring a moment to step back and consider the beauty of the world.

University Communications invites all members of the UChicago community to submit images from their scientific research for the third year of the Science as Art contest. 

Scott Snyder receives ’23–’24 Marian and Stuart Rice Research Award

February 23, 2024

Scott Snyder

Chemistry Professor Scott A. Snyder has received the ’23–’24 Marian and Stuart Rice Research Award, a Divisional honor that provides $100,000 for intellectually exciting and innovative research ventures that enable new research directions.

Five UChicago scholars awarded prestigious Sloan Fellowships in 2024

February 20, 2024

Yuehaw Khoo (left) and Sunyoung Park

Five UChicago scholars have earned prestigious Sloan Research Fellowships, recognizing early-career scholars’ potential to make substantial contributions to their fields. The 2024 Sloan fellows include Yuehaw Khoo (Statistics, left) and Sunyoung Park (Geophysical Sciences).

NeurIPS 2023 award-winning paper by DSI faculty Bo Li, DecodingTrust, provides a comprehensive framework for assessing trustworthiness of GPT models

February 2, 2024

Bo Li

In a year with a record-breaking number of paper submissions, Bo Li was awarded the NeurIPS Outstanding Paper Award.

Stephen Stigler awarded Neumann Prize

January 22, 2024

Casanova's Lottery book cover

Stephen Stigler, Ernest DeWitt Burton Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus of Statistics, has won the 2023 Neumann Prize for his book Casanova's Lottery: The History of a Revolutionary Game of Chance. The prize is awarded for a book in English (including books in translation) dealing with the history of mathematics, aimed at a non-specialist readership.