News: Awards


UChicago earns #6 spot in U.S. News Best Colleges

September 12, 2022

U.S. News and World Report logo on maroon background

The University of Chicago earned the #6 spot in U.S. News Best Colleges national university rankings for 2022-2023.

Argonne to establish center on climate change impact in Chicago

September 8, 2022

Cristina Negri speaks at a press conference in Chicagoland.

The DOE has awarded Argonne and a team of academic and community leaders, including UChicago, $25 million over five years to advance urban climate science by studying climate change effects at local and regional scales. It will establish a center called the Community Research on Climate and Urban Science or CROCUS.

UChicago/Argonne researchers will cultivate AI model “gardens” with $3.5M NSF grant

September 8, 2022

lettuce growing in rows

The Garden Project led by Prof. Ian Foster has been awarded a $3.5 million grant from NSF for researchers from materials science, physics, and chemistry, to create “Model Gardens” that publish and curate AI models, link them with data and computing resources, and make it simple for users.

UChicago/Argonne computer scientist Ian Foster aeceives ACM/IEEE Ken Kennedy Award

September 8, 2022

Ian Foster

Ian Foster, a pioneer in cloud and high-performance computing, was named the 2022 recipient of the Ken Kennedy Award, bestowed annually by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).

PSD in the News - August 2022

September 6, 2022

PSD against a white and turquoise background

This month PSD researchers have been featured for their efforts to predict an extreme heat belt coming to the US, understand universe expansion from black hole collisions, and detect carbon dioxide on a faraway planet using the new James Webb Space Telescope.

U.S. Department of Energy Awards $12.5 million to UChicago for new Energy Frontier Research Center

August 29, 2022

Laura Gagliardi in a room with models of molecules. The background is a white screen with another model of a molecule.

The new Catalyst Design for Decarbonization Center will investigate the mechanisms behind sustainably generated hydrogen fuel

Scientists prepare to send a balloon to search for ‘messengers from outer space’

August 23, 2022

Two scientists review a partially assembled fluorescence telescope

NASA has awarded $4.3 million for the final phase of construction and flight of the Extreme Universe Space Observatory on a Super Pressure Balloon (EUSO-SPB2) experiment led by Prof. Angela Olinto, Dept. of Astronomy and Astrophysics. Sending a scientific balloon to 110,000 feet above Earth will enable a search for tiny, ultra-high-energy cosmic ray particles and neutrinos.

Fellowship helps College student launch career in aerospace industry

August 22, 2022

Audrey Scott

Third-year Audrey Scott is one of 51 undergrads to earn a competitive Brooke Owens Fellowship. Read about her summer research at Ball Aerospace in Boulder, CO.

UChicago co-leads $10 million NSF institute on foundations of data science

August 11, 2022

The black and white logo for IDEAL, a regional consortium for computer science and applied data analysis.

New funding from NSF will grow the IDEAL consortium of more than 60 regional researchers in computer science, statistics, mathematics and electrical engineering. Main research topics of interest include the foundations of machine learning, high-dimensional data analysis and inference, and data science and society, including emerging issues of reliability, fairness, privacy and interpretability.

NSF awards $20 million to universities for advanced data science

August 1, 2022

An illustration of translucent bar graph columns rising across a black expanse to suggest the field of data science

A $20M NSF award will establish the Institute for Data, Econometrics, Algorithms, and Learning, a multi-disciplinary effort led by the University of Illinois Chicago in collaboration with the University of Chicago and other area universities. It will focus on the foundations of machine learning, high-dimensional data analysis and inference, and data science and society.

PSD in the News - July 2022

August 1, 2022

PSD against a white and turquoise background

This month PSD researchers have been featured for their efforts to use supercomputing simulations to reveal weaknesses in HIV-1 defense, share the scientific community's enthusiasm for the first full-color images of James Webb Space Telescope, and to invent a ‘quantum flute’ that can make particles of light move together.

Emily Chen, SB’20 Chemistry, among inaugural class of Arley D. Cathay Fellows

July 11, 2022

Emily Chen

Emily Chen, SB’20 Chemistry and a researcher in the lab of Prof. Giulia Galli, has been selected for the inaugural Arley D. Cathey International Graduate Study Fellowships, which provide financial assistance to pursue a rigorous, research-oriented master's degree at an internationally renowned foreign research university.

Chicago’s Duality Quantum Accelerator selects its second cohort

July 1, 2022

Illustration of quantum interactions

The Polsky Center for Entrepreneurship and Innovation at UChicago and the Chicago Quantum Exchange will begin its second cohort supporting five quantum startups: Icosa Computing, memQ, Quantescence, SCALINQ, and Wave Photonics.

PSD in the News - June 22

June 30, 2022

PSD against a white and turquoise background

This month PSD researchers have been featured for their efforts to understand why Mars dried out, expand and activate the Chicagoland quantum network, and analyze samples from asteroid Ryugu collected by Hayabusa2.

Prof. Yanjing Li receives Under-40 Innovators Award from DAC

June 23, 2022

Yanjing Li

Asst. Prof. Yanjing Li of the Dept. of Computer Science will be one of four researchers to receive the 2022 Under-40 Innovators Award from the annual Design Automation Conference in July in San Francisco, an industry event focused on the automation of electronic chips to systems.