PSD recognizes ten students with a William Rainey Harper Dissertation Fellowship

May 19, 2021

The Physical Sciences Division has selected ten graduate students to receive a William Rainey Harper Dissertation Fellowship for the 2021-2022 academic year.  

The intent of the award is two-fold: to recognize significant achievement and to facilitate completion of the doctoral degree. This award, one of the University of Chicago’s highest honors, is given in recognition of a PhD candidate’s record of achievement and professional promise. The Harper Dissertation Fellowship provides a stipend of $4,000. 

Congratulations to this year’s recipients:

  • Nora Bailey, Astronomy & Astrophysics; Daniel Fabrycky, advisor
  • Jaehyeok Jin, Chemistry; Greg Voth, advisor
  • John Devany, Physics; Margaret Gardel, advisor
  • Peter Morfe, Mathematics; Takis Souganidis, advisor
  • Pinhan Chen, Statistics; Chao Gao, advisor
  • Justin Podowski, Geophysical Sciences; Maureen Coleman, advisor
  • Ruiyi Yang, Computational and Applied Mathematics; Daniel Sanz-Alonso, advisor
  • Vedant Sachdeva, Biophysical Sciences; Arvind Murugan and Stephanie Palmer, advisors
  • Jean Salac, Computer Science; Diana Franklin, advisor
  • Zihan Tan, Computer Science; Julia Chuzhoy, advisor

Related News

Awards, Students