PSD Faculty Earn Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers

July 8, 2019

On July 2, President Donald J. Trump announced the recipients of the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), naming two University of Chicago faculty members, Assc. Prof. of Computer Science Henry Hoffman and Assc. Prof. of Physics Abigail Vieregg. The award honors outstanding scientists and engineers who are beginning their independent research careers and who show exceptional promise for leadership in science and technology. 


According to the White House, the PECASE "acknowledges the contributions scientists and engineers have made to the advancement of science, technology, education, and mathematics (STEM) education and to community service as demonstrated through scientific leadership, public education, and community outreach." 


The Department of Energy nominated Hoffman for his work on a project entitled CALORIE: A Constraint Language and Optimizing Runtime for Exascale Power Management. NASA nominated Vieregg for inventing and implementing innovative techniques in neutrino astronomy 


Hoffman and Vieregg, along with 312 other federal researchers, will be invited to receive their awards at a ceremony in Washington. 

Related News

Awards, Faculty