2022 Arthur L. Kelly Faculty Prize for Exceptional Service in the Physical Sciences Division

May 24, 2022

The 2022 recipients of the Arthur L. Kelly Faculty Prize for Exceptional Service in the Physical Sciences Division are Profs. Young-Kee Kim and Edward "Rocky" Kolb in recognition of their leadership in the Division. 

The prize was established in the Division in 2013 by Arthur L. Kelly, who received his MBA from the University in 1964 and established the same faculty prize at Chicago Booth in 1999. In addition to his contributions to finance, business, international relations, and geography, Kelly served as Trustee of the University from 1988-2008 and has served two decades on the PSD Council, including ten years as Chair. We are pleased to honor his contributions to the Physical Sciences Division and the University of Chicago through this award.

The Kelly Prize celebrates faculty who, outside of their classroom teaching and research, have made exceptional efforts in promoting and supporting the Physical Sciences Division. Previous winners include Ka Yee Lee and John Frederick (2013); Anne Rogers and Michael Hopkins (2014); Robert Fefferman and Robert Wald (2015); Michael Foote (2016); Michael Stein (2017); Richard Jordan (2018); Stephen Stigler (2019); Bryan Dickinson, Margaret Gardel, and Chuan He (2020); and and Aaron Dinner and Stuart Kurtz (2021).

Young-Kee Kim

Young-Kee Kim

Louis Block Distinguished Service Professor in the Department of Physics, the Enrico Fermi Institute, and the College

Kim receives the prize in recognition of her service as Chair of the Department of Physics. Since 2016, Kim has steered the department through a dramatic increase in student enrollment and the pandemic while also growing the faculty. She is committed to supporting students, staff, and faculty, and has been a passionate advocate for creating a welcoming, diverse, and inclusive environment in the department. Kimalso served as Deputy Director of Fermilab (2006-13) and helped foster greater collaboration between researchers at the national lab and the University. As Senior Advisor to the Provost for Global Scientific Initiatives, Kim advances the University's global reach and reputation in the sciences and helps support international scholars and students.

Edward Rocky Kolb

Edward "Rocky" Kolb

Arthur Holly Compton Distinguished Service Professor in the Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics, the David N. Schramm Director of the Kavli Institute for Cosmological Physics, the Enrico Fermi Institute

Kolb receives the prize in recognition of his service as Dean (2013-18), Chair of the Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics (2006-12), and Director of KICP (2019-). Kolb championed UChicago's membership in the Giant Magellan Telescope organization, the creation of the Kadanoff Center for Theoretical Physics, and the expansion of the Department of Computer Science. He also managed PSD’s transition to the Eckhardt Research Center and secured support for the renovation of the Michelson Center for Physics. As Director of KICP, he has helped to raise the profile of the institute, attracting top talent from across the globe.

The Kelly Prize will be awarded at the PSD Convocation ceremony on June 4. 

Related News

Awards, Faculty