NDVS Dates and Costs

Arrival and Departure Dates

NDVS students are charged tuition and associated fees on a quarterly basis. One day of residence at the University of Chicago will trigger costs for an entire quarter, and these costs cannot be prorated. 

We strongly recommend choosing arrival and departure dates that fall within a quarter to avoid incurring additional expenses. 

Note: break periods in between quarters do not count as an additional quarter of enrollment.

Quarter Begins Quarter Ends Last Day for NDVS
Summer 2021 Monday, June 21 Saturday, August 28 Sunday, September 26
Autumn 2021 Monday, September 27 Saturday, December 11 Sunday, January 2
Winter 2022 Monday, January 3 Saturday, March 12 Sunday, March 20
Spring 2022 Monday, March 21 Saturday, June 4 TBD (likely around June 21)

NDVS Costs

Please note: living expenses are an estimate. As part of the visa application process, international students must provide financial documentation to demonstrate that they have sufficient funding for all costs below. If the faculty/program is providing funding support for the student, those support amounts will be reflected in their I-20/DS-2019 request.

NDVS Tuition and Fees Schedule

Please note that these costs are for individual NDVS students invited by a faculty member. For cohort-based program rates, please contact the Dean of Students Office.

Academic Year (per quarter) Summer Quarter
Non-Degree Visitor Tuition $1387/quarter $1387/quarter
Student Services Fee $432/quarter TBD
University Student Health Insurance Plan (U-SHIP) $1522/quarter TBD
Living Expenses $5774/quarter $5774/quarter