News: Faculty Awards


UChicago announces 2024 winners of Quantrell and PhD Teaching Awards

May 16, 2024

Fred Chong (top), Sid Nagel

Fred Chong, the Seymour Goodman Professor in the Department of Computer Science, has been awarded a Llewellyn John and Harriet Manchester Quantrell Award. Sidney Nagel, the Stein-Freiler Distinguished Service Professor of Physics and the College, has won a Faculty Award for Excellence in PhD Teaching and Mentoring.

Congratulations, Profs. Chong and Nagel!

Five UChicago faculty elected to National Academy of Sciences in 2024

May 2, 2024

From left: Nicolas Dauphas, David DeMille, Bonnie Fleming

UChicago scholars, including geochemist Nicolas Dauphas and physicists David DeMille and Bonnie Fleming, have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, joining other scientists and researchers chosen in “recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.”

Six UChicago scholars elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2024

April 26, 2024

Bonnie Fleming (left), Chuan He

Congratulations to physicist Bonnie Fleming and chemist Chuan He, who have been elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences!

Two UChicago scholars elected as 2023 American Association for the Advancement of Science fellows

April 18, 2024

Guangbin Dong (left) and Benoît Roux

Profs. Guangbin Dong and Benoît Roux have made breakthroughs in organic synthetic chemistry and biophysics. They join the 2023 class, announced April 18, which includes scientists, engineers and innovators across multiple fields.

Submit your images from UChicago research to 2024 Science as Art contest

March 7, 2024

a section of a fossil bone, sliced thin and placed on a gypsum plate under polarized light in a petrographic microscope

In the course of scientific research, beautiful images can appear in simulations, under microscopes or in photography. They can offer a window into the process of scientific research to the public, as well as inspiring a moment to step back and consider the beauty of the world.

University Communications invites all members of the UChicago community to submit images from their scientific research for the third year of the Science as Art contest. 

Scott Snyder receives ’23–’24 Marian and Stuart Rice Research Award

February 23, 2024

Scott Snyder

Chemistry Professor Scott A. Snyder has received the ’23–’24 Marian and Stuart Rice Research Award, a Divisional honor that provides $100,000 for intellectually exciting and innovative research ventures that enable new research directions.

Five UChicago scholars awarded prestigious Sloan Fellowships in 2024

February 20, 2024

Yuehaw Khoo (left) and Sunyoung Park

Five UChicago scholars have earned prestigious Sloan Research Fellowships, recognizing early-career scholars’ potential to make substantial contributions to their fields. The 2024 Sloan fellows include Yuehaw Khoo (Statistics, left) and Sunyoung Park (Geophysical Sciences).

NeurIPS 2023 award-winning paper by DSI faculty Bo Li, DecodingTrust, provides a comprehensive framework for assessing trustworthiness of GPT models

February 2, 2024

Bo Li

In a year with a record-breaking number of paper submissions, Bo Li was awarded the NeurIPS Outstanding Paper Award.

Stephen Stigler awarded Neumann Prize

January 22, 2024

Casanova's Lottery book cover

Stephen Stigler, Ernest DeWitt Burton Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus of Statistics, has won the 2023 Neumann Prize for his book Casanova's Lottery: The History of a Revolutionary Game of Chance. The prize is awarded for a book in English (including books in translation) dealing with the history of mathematics, aimed at a non-specialist readership.

John Carlstrom awarded Heineman Prize for Astrophysics for ‘pioneering work’

January 12, 2024

John Carlstrom

Prof. John Carlstrom cited for microwave interferometry and observations of cosmic microwave background.

John E. Carlstrom wins 2024 Dannie Heineman Prize for Astrophysics

January 11, 2024

John Carlstrom

Carlstrom, the Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar Distinguished Service Professor of Astronomy and Astrophysics and Physics, is celebrated for work investigating the cosmic microwave background for clues about the early universe.

Anna Wuttig honored with NSF Career Award

January 10, 2024

Anna Wuttig

Assistant Professor of Chemistry Anna Wuttig has received an NSF CAREER Award, which supports junior faculty in the sciences through the Faculty Early Career Development Program. The highly regarded honor is bestowed annually upon researchers who have demonstrated exceptional promise in their respective fields. For Wuttig, it carries with it a five-year grant to support the project within the Chemical Catalysis Program of the Chemistry Division.

CS Assistant Professor Robert Rand receives Air Force Young Investigator Grant

January 3, 2024

Robert Rand

The three-year, $450,000 grant will fund Rand’s work on formal verification of the ZX-calculus, a graphical system for representing quantum programs.


Mark Levin wins 2023 Dream Chemistry Award

December 5, 2023

Mark Levin (right)

Mark Levin has been announced as the winner of the 2023 Dream Chemistry Award. Organized by IOCB Prague, a leading institution in the Czech Republic, the award was established to support “young talents in pursuing their scientific dreams.” Levin won for his project, "Skeletal Editing: Enabling Synthesis that Matches Design."

Benson Farb awarded 2024 Steele Prize for Mathematical Exposition

December 1, 2023

Benson Farb

The 2024 Steele Prize for Mathematical Exposition is awarded to Benson Farb and Dan Margalit for their Princeton Mathematical Series book A Primer on Mapping Class Groups.

According to the citation, “The authors are leading researchers in group theory as well as allied areas of topology and geometry. Their expertise shines through with masterful and clear expositions of the combinatorial, algebraic, geometric and analytic viewpoints that mapping class groups enjoy...."