News: Awards


UChicago physicists to study macroscopic quantum phenomena as part of the Simons Collaboration

May 28, 2019

Physical Sciences data map logo

Dam T. Son, University Professor in the Department of Physics, and Michael Levin, Associate Professor in the Department of Physics, have been awarded a Simons Foundation grant as part of the newly established Simons Collaboration on Ultra-Quantum Matter.

Three third-year students awarded Barry Goldwater Scholarships

May 16, 2019

Maritha Wang and Nikhil Pandit

Third-year undergraduate students, Keir Adams, Nikhil Pandit and Maritha Wang, have received the prestigious Barry Goldwater Scholarships, awarded annually based on academic merit in the natural sciences, mathematics and engineering.

University of Chicago announces recipients of honorary degrees this year

May 15, 2019

Physical Sciences data map logo

Four distinguished scholars have been named recipients of honorary degrees this year.

Chemist Named 2019 Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar

May 7, 2019

Physical Sciences data map logo

Bryan Dickinson, associate professor in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Chicago, has been named a 2019 Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar for chemical and evolutionary approaches to probe and control biology.

Press Release: UChicago Chemist Among 13 Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholars

May 7, 2019

Bryan Dickinson

The Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation announces the selection of 13 Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholars for 2019. These faculty are within the first five years of their academic careers, have each created an outstanding independent body of scholarship, and are deeply committed to education. 

Royal Society of Chemistry Recognizes Prof. Voth for Excellence in Computational Chemistry

May 6, 2019

Prof. Gregory Voth

The Royal Society of Chemistry's (RSC) Faraday Division has awarded Gregory Voth, the Haig P. Papazian Distinguished Service Professor of Chemistry, the 2019 S F Boys - A Rahman Award.

Press Release: University of Chicago Scientist Wins Prestigious Royal Society of Chemistry Award

May 6, 2019

Prof. Gregory Voth

Professor Gregory Voth has been named winner of the prestigious S F Boys-A Rahman Award from the Royal Society of Chemistry.

2019 Student Fellowship Winners

April 26, 2019

Physical Sciences data map logo

Walter Massey, former faculty member and trustee emeritus, receives Vannevar Bush Award

April 18, 2019

Walter E. Massey

The National Science Board announced that Massey, senior adviser to the president of the University of Chicago, will receive its prestigious Vannevar Bush Award.

National Sciences Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship

April 18, 2019

Physical Sciences data map logo

Twelve graduate students in the PSD earned the prestigious National Sciences Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship.

Prof. Per Mykland earns Guggenheim fellowship to understand data architecture

April 16, 2019

Prof. Per Mykland

The Robert M. Hutchins Professor of Statistics and Finance, Per Mykland, is one of five UChicago scholars to be named 2019 Guggenheim Fellows.

Two UChicago graduate students win prestigious Department of Energy fellowships

April 12, 2019

Physical Sciences data map logo

Graduate students Evan Angelico and Nina Coyle have received prestigious Department of Energy fellowships to conduct their research at Fermilab.

Mathematician Wins Prestigious Wolf Prize

January 17, 2019

Prof. Greg Lawler

Gregory Lawler, the George Wells Beadle Distinguished Service Professor of Mathematics and Statistics, has earned the prestigious Wolf Prize for his contributions to research on stochastic processes.

Undergraduate honored by Association for Women in Mathematics

January 14, 2019

Naomi Sweeting

Naomi Sweeting, a fourth-year in the College, has been awarded the Alice T. Schafer Mathematics Prize, given annually by the Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM) to an undergraduate woman for excellence in mathematics.

Astronomer Receives Lifetime Service Award

January 11, 2019

Donald York

Donald York, the Horace B. Horton Professor Emeritus in the Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics, won this year’s Royal Astronomical Society Service Award for his lifetime contribution to astronomy.