News: Awards


UChicago CS chair, faculty, and students inducted into Samsung Hall of Fame for identifying vulnerability in SmartTVs

November 2, 2023

Samsung SmartTV

Researchers from the Department of Computer Science have created a side-channel attack that identifies how easily hackers could guess a user's passwords or credit card numbers by listening to the audio of a SmartTV. The work has been recognized by Samsung, and the group is now featured in the Samsung Hall of Fame for Smart TV, Audio, and Displays.

Congrats to cosmologist Rocky Kolb, winner of the APS Lilienfeld Prize!

October 24, 2023

Rocky Kolb

In an interview with APS News, Kolb urges physicists to combat scientific illiteracy and discusses the Big Bang, parallel universes, and the need for public outreach.

Congrats to Physics professor David DeMille for receiving the APS Ramsey Prize!

October 24, 2023

David DeMille

The Norman F. Ramsey Prize recognizes outstanding accomplishments in the two fields of Norman Ramsey: atomic, molecular, and optical physics; and precision tests of fundamental laws and symmetries. DeMille, along with Gerald Gabrielse (Northwestern), and John M. Doyle (Harvard), earned the prize “for pioneering work in molecular physics, cooling, and spectroscopy that has profoundly advanced the search for the electric dipole moment of the electron, and for placing stringent constraints on modifications to the Standard Model in a tabletop experiment.”

University of Chicago alum Moungi Bawendi shares Nobel Prize in Chemistry for work on quantum dots

October 5, 2023

Moungi Bawendi

CBS News Chicago reports on 2023 Nobel laureate Moungi Bawendi being a UChicago alum.

UChicago professor wins ‘genius grant’

October 5, 2023

Rina Foygel Barber

Crain's Chicago Business reports on Prof. Rina Foygel Barber being awarded a "genius grant" from the MacArthur Foundation.

Congrats to statistician Rina Foygel Barber for winning MacArthur Fellowship!

October 4, 2023

Rina Foygel Barber

University of Chicago Prof. Rina Foygel Barber, a statistician known for her work in quantifying uncertainty, has been awarded a 2023 MacArthur Fellowship.

UChicago alum Moungi Bawendi shares Nobel Prize in Chemistry for discovery of quantum dots

October 4, 2023

Moungi Bawendi

Research by Bawendi, PhD’88, paved way for wide use of nano-sized particles in technology.

Congrats to Geophysical Sciences professor Andrew M. Davis for winning Leonard Medal!

October 3, 2023

Andrew Davis

The Leonard Medal, the Meteoritical Society's highest honor, "recognizes Prof. Davis' fundamental contributions to meteoritics and cosmochemistry across a wide range of investigations pertaining to time scales and processes in the solar nebula and to the synthesis of the elements in stars."

Five UChicago CS students named to Siebel Scholars Class of 2024

September 22, 2023

Jas Brooks, Kuntai Du, Miao Li (first row), Madeleine Roberts, and Divij Sinha

Jas Brooks, Kuntai Du, Miao Li, Madeleine Roberts, and Divij Sinha were selected to the prestigious program’s Class of 2024.

UChicago Researchers win Internet Defense Prize and Distinguished Paper Awards at USENIX Security

September 15, 2023

SAND Lab, Security, Usability, and Privacy Education and Research

Among the top recognized at this year's USENIX Security Symposium were the Glaze Project and SUPERgroup's collaborative research on the vulnerability of university’s passwords to attacks leveraging password reuse.

Congratulations to Chuan He for winning the Falling Walls Science Breakthrough of the Year!

September 13, 2023

Chuan He

Chuan He, who was shortlisted last month for the Falling Walls Science Breakthrough of the Year, has been named the 2023 laureate for Life Sciences.

Three UChicago organic chemists have been selected for 2024 ACS national awards! 

September 8, 2023

Viresh Rawal, Guangbin Dong, Mark Levin

Congratulations to...
Viresh Rawal: ACS Award for Creative Work in Synthetic Organic Chemistry
Guangbin Dong: Elias J. Corey Award for Outstanding Original Contribution in Organic Synthesis by a Young Investigator
Mark Levin: Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award

Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics welcomes Brinson Prize Fellow Daniel Gilman

September 8, 2023

Daniel Gilman

Congratulations to Daniel Gilman, who has been named a Brinson Prize Fellow at the University of Chicago in the Department of Astronomy & Astrophysics.


Crain’s Chicago Business Notable Women in STEM honors three PSD scientists

September 6, 2023

left to right: Marcela Carena, Wendy Freedman, and Angela Olinto

Congratulations to Prof. Marcela Carena, Prof. Wendy Freedman, and Dean of the Physical Sciences Division Angela Olinto! The three PSD scientists have been named Notable Women in STEM by Crain's Chicago Business.

Congratulations to Chuan He for winning the Tetrahedron Prize for Creativity in Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry!

August 29, 2023

Chuan He

Elsevier and the Board of Executive Editors of Elsevier’s Tetrahedron journal series are pleased to announce that the 2023 Tetrahedron Prize for Creativity in Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry has been awarded to Professor Chuan He, Department of Chemistry, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology.

Photo by Jason Smith