News: Awards


Stephen Stigler awarded Neumann Prize

January 22, 2024

Casanova's Lottery book cover

Stephen Stigler, Ernest DeWitt Burton Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus of Statistics, has won the 2023 Neumann Prize for his book Casanova's Lottery: The History of a Revolutionary Game of Chance. The prize is awarded for a book in English (including books in translation) dealing with the history of mathematics, aimed at a non-specialist readership.

John Carlstrom awarded Heineman Prize for Astrophysics for ‘pioneering work’

January 12, 2024

John Carlstrom

Prof. John Carlstrom cited for microwave interferometry and observations of cosmic microwave background.

Inno Under 25: The rising startup leaders to watch in Chicago

January 11, 2024

Inno under 25

A Business Journals article lists UChicago undergrads Aarthi Koripelly and Jackson Lee among the Inno Under 25 for their startup, which tied for first place in last year's College New Venture Challenge and participated in the data science accelerator Transform.

John E. Carlstrom wins 2024 Dannie Heineman Prize for Astrophysics

January 11, 2024

John Carlstrom

Carlstrom, the Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar Distinguished Service Professor of Astronomy and Astrophysics and Physics, is celebrated for work investigating the cosmic microwave background for clues about the early universe.

Anna Wuttig honored with NSF Career Award

January 10, 2024

Anna Wuttig

Assistant Professor of Chemistry Anna Wuttig has received an NSF CAREER Award, which supports junior faculty in the sciences through the Faculty Early Career Development Program. The highly regarded honor is bestowed annually upon researchers who have demonstrated exceptional promise in their respective fields. For Wuttig, it carries with it a five-year grant to support the project within the Chemical Catalysis Program of the Chemistry Division.

Two scholars to receive honorary degrees at UChicago’s 2024 Convocation

January 5, 2024

Bernd Sturmfels

The University of Chicago will present an honorary degree to distinguished scholar Bernd Sturmfels at its Convocation ceremony in June 2024, in recognition of his significant contributions to the field of mathematics.

2024 Mitsuyoshi Tanaka Dissertation Award in Experimental Particle Physics

January 5, 2024

Charles Mark Lewis

Charles Mark Lewis, PhD'23 (Physics), is recognized for "the development of techniques expanding the low-energy reach of new particle detector technologies, with applications in neutrino physics, dark matter searches, and the study of charged-lepton flavor violating modes of muon decay."

CS Assistant Professor Robert Rand receives Air Force Young Investigator Grant

January 3, 2024

Robert Rand

The three-year, $450,000 grant will fund Rand’s work on formal verification of the ZX-calculus, a graphical system for representing quantum programs.


Mark Levin wins 2023 Dream Chemistry Award

December 5, 2023

Mark Levin (right)

Mark Levin has been announced as the winner of the 2023 Dream Chemistry Award. Organized by IOCB Prague, a leading institution in the Czech Republic, the award was established to support “young talents in pursuing their scientific dreams.” Levin won for his project, "Skeletal Editing: Enabling Synthesis that Matches Design."

Benson Farb awarded 2024 Steele Prize for Mathematical Exposition

December 1, 2023

Benson Farb

The 2024 Steele Prize for Mathematical Exposition is awarded to Benson Farb and Dan Margalit for their Princeton Mathematical Series book A Primer on Mapping Class Groups.

According to the citation, “The authors are leading researchers in group theory as well as allied areas of topology and geometry. Their expertise shines through with masterful and clear expositions of the combinatorial, algebraic, geometric and analytic viewpoints that mapping class groups enjoy...."

Alumni Spotlight: Get to know Emily Wenger, a 2023 CS graduate who was just named to the Forbes 30 Under 30 List

November 29, 2023

Emily Wenger

Emily Wenger, a 2023 PhD graduate from Appleton, Wisconsin, is making a name for herself in a big way. She was just named to the Forbes 30 Under 30 list for 2024 for her work on Glaze: a tool that allows artists to shield their work from AI mimicry.

Six PSD members named Highly Cited Researchers

November 15, 2023

Clarivate Highly Cited Researchers 2023

Six UChicago physical and mathematical scientists were named in Web of Science's 2023 report of highly cited researchers. According to Web of Science, researchers on the list have demonstrated significant and broad influence in their fields and contribute “disproportionately to extending the frontiers of knowledge and gaining for society innovations that make the world healthier, more sustainable and more secure.” 

Three Argonne scientists inducted as Fellows of American Physical Society

November 14, 2023

Katrin Heitmann

Congratulations to Katrin Heitmann, a Senior Associate for the Kavli Institute for Cosmological Physics, for being inducted as an American Physical Society Fellow!

Heitmann’s research currently focuses on computational cosmology, in particular, on trying to understand the causes for the accelerated expansion of the Universe, and the role of dark matter and dark energy.

A crack at solving the asymmetry mystery

November 10, 2023

David DeMille

APS Ramsey Prize winner David DeMille describes his groundbreaking ACME experiment and how it puts the Standard Model to the test.

Mathematics Professor Luis Silvestre named 2024 AMS Fellow

November 8, 2023

Luis Silvestre

Congratulations to Mathematics Professor Luis Silvestre, who was named a 2024 Fellow of the American Mathematical Society (AMS)! Forty mathematical scientists from around the world have been named Fellows of the American Mathematical Society (AMS) for 2024, the program's twelfth year. AMS members designated as Fellows of the AMS have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication, and utilization of mathematics.