PSD Nobels and major awards

The Physical Sciences Division (PSD) at the University of Chicago is home to visionary scholars who have redefined the frontiers of the physical and mathematical sciences throughout history.

The book linked in the image below honors those physical and mathematical scientists who were awarded Nobel Prizes in Physics, Chemistry, and Economics, the Fields Medal in Mathematics, the Abel Prize, the Crafoord Prize, and the A.M. Turing Award. These pages illustrate a field-defining and interdisciplinary research tradition at UChicago, which continues to thrive throughout PSD’s departments, institutes, centers, and committees today.

Cover of PSD Awards Book

Access the full list of UChicago accolades.

Learn more about PSD Trailblazers and their major contributions to science.